When it comes to safety at the workplace in B.C, there are many different tiers that dictate how we work safely on site. WorkSafeBC regulations are simply one tier. Keep in mind, regulations are a baseline minimum level of safety, NOT A MAXIMUM.

You can potentially have at least 5 levels of safety at the workplace

1. Worksafe regulations

2. CSA standards

3. Unions / Organizations

4. Your own companies OH&S policies

5. The workplace / site policies

How the laws are written, if any one of these levels has a “more safe” rule in writing, it becomes the level of safety you’re required to adhere to. This should NOT be confused with a supervisors personal opinion or preference. The standards/policy and safety regulatoins MUST be written with legislative/owner/manager or designated appointee approval.